Minnie Mama's Blog

Review of General Mills Cereal

Posted on: January 21, 2010

As you all know, one of Minnie Mama’s 2010 goals is to get back shape and shed a few pounds. I’d like to call these extra pounds left over baby weight, but let’s be totally honest — it’s the same 10lbs I was trying to shed before I got pregnant. Ugh, those pesky pounds just don’t want to leave these thighs! Ha ha! 
 
Anyways, enough of the babbling and back to my point! In my efforts to lose those pounds, I have teamed up with My Blog Spark and General Mills for a fantastic project — educating myself and my readers about the amazing benefits of eating cereal! Did you know that ready-to-eat cereal eaters consume less fat, less cholestrol, and more fiber than non-cereal eaters?! Honestly, I didn’t and these facts are huge to me because I absolutely love cereal! I mean, what’s not to love?! It’s quick & easy for either breakfast or dinner (yes, dinner — I’m not the best cook in the world so sometimes we need a good back-up plan), it’s a great grab on the go as it’s not mess and vacuums up easily (think little messy hands in your backseat otherwise), a delicious snack to munch on when catching up on my Tivo’d General Hospital — its just awesome all around!
 
I also learned that cereal delivers important vitamins, minerals, and other essential nutrients, making cereal a top source of key nutrients in children’s diets.
 
Here are some other benefits of cereals:
 
  • Ready-to-eat cereals, including pre-sweetened cereals, account for only 5% of sugar in children’s diets.
  •  Ready-to-eat cereal is the No. 1 source of whole grains in a child’s diet today.
  • More frequent cereal eaters tend to have healthier body weights and lower Body Mass Index measures.

Wow! All of these statistics are absolutely amazing to me! When I was a little girl, my mom was a homemaker so she’d make us a big homemade breakfast every morning before school as she refused to buy cereal because she didn’t want us to eat “a bowl of sugar” as she not so lovingly referred to our favorite cereals, but times have definitely changed since then. For most of us Moms we no longer have the option or luxury of time to make a big breakfast every morning as we’re frantically rushing out the door to drop the kids off at school / daycare and make it to work on time only to realize that we still need to find something nutritious and filling to feed our little ones and no time to cook. Please tell me I am not the only one w/ mornings like these? Okay so truthfully it’s every morning like this, but again I will stay on topic…

General Mills has been reducing sugar in cereals while increasing key nutrients, such as calcium and vitamin D, and providing whole grain. Cereal also delivers  important vitamins, minerals, and other essential nutrients, making it a top source of key nutrients in childrens diets.  Now thanks to General Mills and their committment to further reduce sugar in cereals advertised to kids, us Moms can comfortably give our kids cereal in the morning rather it be a quick breakfast at the kitchen table or even in the backseat of our cars.

Are you still not sure about giving your kids cereal in the morning because you hear your own mother’s voice in your head calling it “a bowl of sugar”? Well, a 1998 study showed that children who eat breakfast tend to perform better at school. Compared to children who skip breakfast, children who eat breakfast score higher on tests, are less likely to miss class or be tardy, have fewer reported discipline problems, and make fewer trips to the office. How can you argue with that?!

So tell me, what’s your favorite cereal? Do you like it dry or with milk? Either way, please click here to access a special coupon for all of Minnie Mama’s readers to receive $1.00 off one of four General Mills cereals.

Important Disclosure: I was generously given four complimentary coupons to try General Mills cereals thanks to My Blog Spark and General Mills. However, I did not receive any monetary compensation and the above review is based completely on my own thoughts and opinions.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,409 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

