Minnie Mama's Blog

Toyota Safety Recall

Posted on: February 2, 2010

Let me start this post by saying that I have been a loyal Toyota customer forever. I’ve only owned three cars in my life and literally they have all been Toyota! I loved Toyota and thought they were one of the safest and most reliable brands on the market. Boy was I wrong!

In the past few months Toyota has announced two MAJOR safety recalls affecting many different types of Toyota — both of them affect my 2009 Camry!

The first recall was for “floor mat entrapment” which basically meant the floor mat could interfere with your gas pedal causing it to stick so you can’t stop accelerating. Oh that’s real nice, Toyota! I heard about this recall on the news and followed exactly what the report said to do remove your driver floor mat from your car. Okay so I did this and now have a very dirty carpet, but whatever as long as it keeps me safe, right?! WRONG!

There is now a second recall for the “pedal” because gas pedals are getting stuck in the downward accelerating position which in basic terms mean you’re screwed and will crash as you can’t unstick the gas! Oh this is nice…

And the news report also stated that Toyota has halted the sales and production of all new Toyotas until this problem has been resolved. Okay that makes perfect sense, but here is the kicker — they will be working on resolving this issue in the cars in the factories and the dealerships BEFORE they fix the cars already on the road! Are you freakin’ kidding me?! Yeah, that makes a lot of sense to fix cars that no one is driving versus the cars that people need to use everyday of their lives. So now we are all at risk of killing ourselves or others thanks to this recall, but Toyota would rather fix the unsold cars first because they don’t want to lose any money from sales. And did I mention that people have already DIED from driving these recalled cars?! Died.

So now where do I hear about these recalls? From my local dealership? No. Directly from Toyota with a phone call or notice sent in the mail? No. I hear all about this through the news! Now, that’s great the news is reporting it, but what if my hubby didn’t watch the news? Would we even know about this?! You see, I don’t watch the news as it’s just too depressing so honestly I would probably not know about this! And you would think with such a major issue Toyota would be reaching out to ALL of their customers to alert them of this issue, but no they are not. However, they have no problem reaching out to me every month to send me a leasing bill!

Okay so back to this recall issue — I honestly do not feel safe driving my car. The car that my baby rides in everyday. The car that could potentially at any moment not stop accelerating. The same type of car that people have died in thanks to this issue. I have contacted Toyota in the hopes of getting out of my lease (I only have 14 more months), but they refuse to break my lease or even give me another car until they can remedy this issue. I begged, I pleaded, I cried — no luck. They told me they expect to be shipping parts out to the local dealers soon and in the meantime if my car gets stuck “just put it in neutral and ease over to the side”. Okay sure, it will be that easy to ease over to the side on the highway going 65mph with a toddler in the back seat. Thanks for nothing Toyota!

I also called several local Toyota dealers to see if I could put my name on a waiting list for these repairs once they get the new parts, but the service department knew nothing about even getting new parts. I spoke with the dealership owners directly (I wasn’t messing around anymore!) and received the runaround from them too. The bottom line is that Toyota is screwed and they know it, but have no clue how or when this issue will be resolved. I bet the big shots at Toyota made damn sure their children are no longer riding in these death traps!

Honestly, I do understand that recalls happen, but something this major is unacceptable. And the way this matter is being handled is even more unacceptable! I was planning to buy a Toyota SUV once my current lease is up, but those are affected by this recall too and I will never buy another Toyota again!

Do you have a Toyota affected by this recall? Or are you unsure if your Toyota is one of them? If so please call Toyota Customer Service at (800) 331-4331 to speak with a helpful customer service rep. And if anyone out there owns a dealership or works for Toyota and wants to help me get out of this lease then please contact me.

5 Responses to "Toyota Safety Recall"

I too have a 2009 Toyota Camry with 34 months left on my lease and want out of it immediately. I’m even willing to get back into another Toyota vehicle not affected by the recall which I consider is me giving Toyota another chance..

My local dealer is just now “looking into the issue” and I’ve also sent an email to corporate looking for some assistance.

I agree that recalls are understandable and the way that Toyota customers are being treated is completely ridiculous. If they’re not willing to make ammends then I too will never own another Toyota vehicle.

I’d be interested in hearing what, if any progress you have made. Toyota has to be doing something about folks in our situation.

You know I have no choice but to drive my 2010 Camry to and from work every day. I called my local dealership and was told I would have to wait until next week to get it fixed. I’m not too concerned, but if I had to drive my niece around I may feel differently.

It really is so frustrating isn’t it?! I hope Toyota does something soon to rectify this issue as otherwise they are definitely going to lose many loyal customers, if they haven’t already!

I really am so scared to drive my little girl in the car, but I have no other option. Ugh!

I had no idea it affected my NON toyota car good thing I found more info here http://www.carpedalrecall.com
searched for my make, model, year and found my car had been recalled so look out! it could save a life maybe yours

don’t understand, what the car pedal recall is about?
just watch this video

after you watch it watch the video below:

this is a video showing how to stop a out of control car.
Might answer questions for all those who say just turn off the car or hit the brakes , on newer cars it is not that easy watch

We need to go after the professulas who inflicted America-hating Trotskyite Deming Juran Japanaese participative management on this country! Industrial engineering is soviet economics because they don’t believe inr egular economics.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,489 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

