Minnie Mama's Blog

I’m a General Hospital Ambassador

Posted on: February 16, 2010

For those of you who know me personally, you know that I am a HUGE fan of General Hospital.

I have been watching GH since I was a little girl. My mom was always a Soap Opera watcher so naturally I grew up watching it too. I will admit that I am too young to have ever seen Luke & Laura’s 1st wedding, but I did see the re-runs of it — my mom used to record all of the episodes on VHS.

I remember coming home from school and eating my afternoon snack while my mom ironed clothes and watched GH. It sounds really silly, but this was our special time together although I was not allowed to talk unless it was during a commercial. Luckily for Isabella, times have since changed and I can now DVR my show so we can pause it if she feels the need to chit chat.   🙂

I also remember being a kid in the summer time and sitting on my best friend’s front steps eating popsicles while waiting for GH to start at 3pm – that was the highlight of our lazy summer days.  We both had high hopes of someday marrying Jagger. Oh how I cried, when his kid brother Stone died of AIDS. And of course I cried when Lila died in real life — she always reminded me of a sweet little Grandma.

General Hospital has definitely changed a lot over the years with many characters coming & going & then coming back again from the dead or even coming back as a ghost (remember Alan Q?!), but that’s alright because I have changed over the past 20 something years too. It’s a show that as corny as this sounds has grown up with me. No matter what drama has been going on in my own life, GH has always been there for me almost as if they’ve become a part of my extended family. Yes, I realize that makes me sound incredibly pathetic, but I swear I am not a lazy bum who never leaves her house and obsesses over GH. It’s just my relaxing escape away from the sometimes hectic and stressful reality of my life and into a world of other people’s drama.

Speaking of drama — there is always some dramatic plot happening on GH and I love it! For example, I will keep this current in case some of my readers haven’t been watching this show forever like me, lol. Sonny’s ‘new’ son Dominic / Dante. That story line was going on forever and now it finally erupted and yet the plot is still fresh and suspenseful. I can’t wait to watch my recorded episode tonight once Mini Minnie Mama is asleep!

Okay so back to my original point of this post. I just can’t help my babbling, I am a total GH addict! I am very excited and honored to announce to all of you that I, Minnie Mama, am an official General Hospital Brand Ambassador!!! Now you’re probably sitting there thinking to yourself great, but what the heck does that mean?!

Well, it means this (a) I now have a specific reason to babble about GH on this blog which is fabulous since I already did that! And (b) you my lucky readers have a chance to participate in an exciting General Hospital sweepstakes that’s currently being run on the Mom Central website. One lucky winner will be randomly selected to receive a trip to Los Angeles to visit the set of General Hospital and have a walk-on role. The sweepstakes is open until February 28th. Here is a link to their sign-up survey for this sweepstakes: http://www.zoomerang.com/Survey/WEB22A5X5XEZD9

Oh and if any of you do win this sweepstakes and don’t want to go then PLEASE let me go in your place or hide me in your suitcase. Yes, I am being dead serious and I am willing to do almost anything for this chance. I would die a happy woman if I got to meet my boys (Sonny, Jason, Dante / Dominic) and of course all of the awesome ladies too — I love Carly and Sam!  🙂

Important Disclosure: I am a participant in a Mom Central campaign for ABC Daytime and will receive a tote bag or other General Hospital branded items to facilitate my review.

2 Responses to "I’m a General Hospital Ambassador"

Woo hoo! So excited for you. This will be a fun opportunity!

I really am sooo excited! I grew up w/ GH and am still hooked on it to this day so this is a huge honor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,706 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

