Minnie Mama's Blog

Work / Life Balance

Posted on: June 9, 2010

Work / life balance is something that we all strive to achieve on a daily basis, right? Well, what if you were in my shoes and helping people balance their work / life was actually your profession? Yup, that’s right my job in the corporate world is to assist a major company’s employees with balancing their work and personal lives. Sounds fun, doesn’t it? And yes, it is fun or maybe I should say was fun. You see it was all fun and games before I became a Mama and now I need someone to help me balance my work & personal life.

As I sit here in my teeny tiny cubicle typing this post all I can think about is how I don’t want to be forced with the decisions of how to successfully balance my work and personal life. I really don’t. I want to be home with my daughter and make being a Mama my career. That is my calling. That is where I am meant to be. Not stuck in this little cubicle helping others with their vacation planning, dinner reservations, parties, etc.

Sure, I completely understand that you must get those sold out tickets because it’s a matter of life or death if you attend the hottest show of the summer, but you know what sometimes it feels like a matter of life or death if I get to my daughter’s daycare on time. You don’t have to pay the late fees for every minute I’m late nor do you see her little face crumple into helpless tears when Mama leaves her in the morning.

I sit here counting the hours, minutes, seconds till I run away from this office and scurry off to the train to get my precious girl. I used to love my career, I really did. But now it’s become just a job and that’s sad. It’s a place that I sit M-F and do work. It helps to pay the bills somewhat, but it’s not my life’s dream. No, my life’s dream is to be at home raising my own child instead of hearing about her day from her daycare teachers. They are the ones who rub her back at nap, kiss her boo-boo’s and make it all better, play with her all day long, and that should be ME! She’s been in daycare since she was 12 weeks old so that’s all she’s ever known and it’s like extended family to her. But I know it’s not her family and I know I should be with her, but financially I can’t and it breaks my heart into a million pieces.

This sucks…sorry there is no nice or poetic way to phrase what it’s like being a FT working Mama. It just sucks!

And since Minnie Mama is on a total biatch fest — to all you Mamas who stay at home and then have the audacity to whine about how tired you are, how you need some “you” time, how you are so bored at home just shut up. Seriously, I know that sounds harsh, but I don’t care anymore…

1 Response to "Work / Life Balance"

Yes Minniemama you are doing a wonderful job with our little princess and we cherish every second we have with you.We love you bunches
XOXOX
Daddy

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,488 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

