Minnie Mama's Blog

KIDStrong Review

Posted on: July 13, 2010

Let me start off my review post by reminding you guys that Minnie Mama is always 110% honest during her reviews even if it’s not the answer the advertising company may want from me which is why it’s taken me several weeks to even post this review. I’ve gone back and forth about this review. Do I stay true to Minnie Mama’s blog ethics and post a totally honest review which may upset this vendor or do I not post my review at all? What do I do?! Well,  I decided to stay true to myself and my blog readers and share this review with you. Eek!

I was recently contacted directly by a promotional company to try out a new energy drink line geared towards kids called KIDStrong. I received in the mail several (I think 3 or 4?) bottles of their beverages in grape and orange flavor for Isabella to try. Upon opening the box, Isabella saw the kids playing on the bottles (skateboarding, running, playing ball, etc) which by the way is a great marketing approach as it entices the kids and parents see “active” kids so it totally ties in w/ their theme of being a healthy drink — smart thinking KIDStrong

However, before I let her drink this new ‘juice’ I had to read all of the enclosed materials, examine the nutrition label, and taste each one. Yes, some people may say I am a little crazy like that, but I prefer to consider it part of my charm.  🙂

According to the enclosed materials and what I read online on their website the benefits of KIDStrong drinks are:

  • All natural
  • No artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners
  • Preservative free
  • Low in sugar
  • Low glycemic index complex carbohydrate blend
  • Optimal electrolyte profile
  •  Power packed with 22 vitamins, minerals, and nutrients
  • Scientifically formulated for kids’ hydration and energy

Okay so that’s what KIDStrong says about their drinks, but what does a real Mama say about it? Since I am a total label reading junkie, I immediately flipped the bottle around and began reading (examining) each aspect of the nutrition list. I was surprised and excited to see how low in calories and sugar it was. Could this be the miracle drink I’ve been scouring the supermarket shelves for? I am a firm believer that kids of all ages should only drink milk, water, and the occasional few glasses of watered-down juice. However, as your kids get older and go off to school or in our case even daycare, they see other kids with horrible sugar drinks and then they think they want it too which is just not happening in Minnie Mama’s house!

Anyways, as I mentioned before I was very pleased with the nutrition label, but the ingredient list was a whole other issue. I am by no means a total crunchy all organic Mama, but I do try to feed Isabella sensible and healthy options so the ingredients in a product mean a lot to me. In this case, I honestly had no clue what half the ingredients were?! There were all sorts of ingredients that I couldn’t pronounce let alone figure out what the heck they were and so I decided to investigate. I searched online and read other fellow Mama bloggers’ reviews. All of these reviews raved about this product and how much their kids loved it, it tasted great, blah blah blah. But none of these Mamas mentioned the actual nutrition behind it or more importantly the ingredients in it. Are these Mom Bloggers not concerned with proper nutrition for their children or maybe they just don’t dare say anything negative in a product review? I am not sure, but I do know that nothing holds Minnie Mama back…God help us all. And then I stumbled upon an amazing blog called Food Educate Blog which by the way is now one of my favorite blogs! It had a whole honest review on this product and it explained all of those ingredients to me in plain English. Boy, was it eye-opening on this product and lots of other “kid” foods — check it out!

After reading that blog review I did decide that this drink is probably not for us. Luckily, I don’t have a child who drinks soda or other energy drinks so this drink really isn’t for us. However, she’s only 2 years old so who’s to say if later on down the road there won’t be soda / sugary drink battles, but I do feel that if you educate them at a young age on making the right food choices then it won’t be an issue later on in life. But if your child is already hooked on soda, sports drinks, juices, etc. then this is definitely a product you may wish to check out. Of course, water and milk is still a million times better for your children, but this is a step in the right direction, I think?

And just in case you’re out there wondering if I ever let poor Isabella try this tempting drink…I did. We both did. And I took a few pics so you could see that I really truly did let Isabella try this drink. The taste itself is pretty good — not as sugary as drain cleaner AKA soda, but still a little on the sweet side. While both flavors were decent, we definitely liked the grape one better. We’ve been having a heat wave here in Boston and Isabella had the flu so I did let her drink one of the freebie bottles (you all know how frugal I am too!). The other ones are still sitting in the fridge…maybe the neighborhood kids will drink them?

As I step down from my soap box I just want to say, I really hope this review didn’t sound like I was bashing this company as that was not my intention at all. I think the concept is fabulous and overall it’s a great product considering how many sugary drinks children drink in our country. If you’re looking for an alternative to the typical sports drink or (gasp) soda then this is the drink for you and your kids, but if you’re like us then stick with your water, milk, and occasional watered down Motts for Tots juices.

 

Important Disclosure: No compensation was received for this product. I was given several bottles of this product to sample and help faciliate my review. However, all of the opinions expressed in this post are 110% my own despite the back-lash this may cause — eek!  🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,489 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

