Minnie Mama's Blog

Remembering 9/11

Posted on: September 11, 2010

 

It feels like it was just yesterday and yet at the same time it feels like it was a lifetime ago. Nine years ago today I was living in Florida with my then fiancé (now hubs) getting ready for work when I heard the news.

It was a frantic Monday morning much like today, but in a different sense. It was just the two of us and the world revolved around me or so I thought – I was young and naïve. I could hear Buddy yelling to me over my hair dryer, but I didn’t pay any attention as I was late and didn’t have time to chat. Once I was done, I went into the living room to see what all his fussing was about. He was watching the news with a look of horror on his face. A plane just crashed into a NYC building. My reaction what kind of F’n idiot didn’t see the building? Remember, I was young and naïve. And self-centered. Then I heard the news again about the 2nd plane crashing into the building and again stupid me has the same reaction as the 1st time. Seriously, I was so stupid!

I remember taking my time to get to work as I was scared to even leave my house, but of course my lovely boss at the time insisted I come in. We all sat around a small TV in our break room watching the news and praying for all of the people in NYC. I kept trying to call my family & friends back home in Boston, but the lines were outta control. It was a such a scary day and it felt totally surreal.I stayed at work until my lunch break and then I left for the day. I didn’t tell my boss I wasn’t coming back. I just left for the day and hoped for the best. On my way home from work I stopped for gas as my instincts told me if I needed to flee Florida then I better have a full tank of gas. I am not really sure where I would’ve driven too, but I thought this made sense and obviously I wasn’t alone as I sat in mile long traffic just to get gas.

That night I finally got through to my family & friends and thankfully everyone was safe. I felt so blessed to have all of my loved ones alive and unharmed. My heart was broken for all of the families who lost their loved ones and or couldn’t even find their bodies in the turmoil. Children lost their parents. Spouses lost their husband / wife. Parents lost their grown children. Friends lost their confidantes. Words cannot even begin to describe the sheer horror of this tragedy.

A few weeks after 9/11 we were scheduled to fly up to Boston for our wedding. We were one of the 1st planes that was cleared for flights and OMG it was the scariest moments ever. The airport was so quiet that you could literally hear a pin drop. I felt very safe as the level of security was at it’s peak and yet at the same time I was terrified to fly. Our whole country had been turned upside down and here I was on my way to my wedding and to start the beginning of my life. I was so excited and yet I felt guilty. How could I be planning my wedding when people lost their lives and their loved ones?! The whole thing was just too much and so heartbreaking. There was a special speech given at our wedding and a moment of silence in honor of the people who lost their lives on 9/11, but still it didn’t matter. People died because of a horrible moment in time that will forever be etched in our memories and our hearts.

It’s been nine years since that tragic morning and a lot has changed. I’ve moved back to the Boston area, gotten married, had a baby, bought a house, and completely grown up. But one thing that hasn’t changed is how awful and terrifying this tragedy still is today. I feel myself getting choked up just thinking about 9/11 and all of the people who lost their lives. And then I think about what if that happened here in Boston where I worked?! I get very emotional and terrified just thinking about. Not so much terrified for myself, but for my beautiful little girl. Both the hubs and I work in Boston along w/ her Grammie. What would she do if God forbid all three of us died in that kind of an accident. Her whole world would be wiped out. I can’t even think about it and yet every day when I take the stairs at work I do think about it. I think about how those people must’ve been freaking out and trying desperately to get out safely for their children and loved ones. My heart aches thinking about their last moments and my eyes fill up with tears.

Today on the 9th anniversary of 9/11 please let’s have a moment of silence for everyone who lost their lives. And let’s have a moment of silence for everyone who lost a loved one. God bless America and God bless everyone in our country.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,488 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

