Minnie Mama's Blog

Review and Giveaway: Hershey’s Moderation Nation

Posted on: November 12, 2010

Minnie Mama totally understands that between your busy schedule and responsibilities with work, friends and family – it may be challenging to maintain a healthy and balanced lifestyle, especially while on the go. However, what if you had easy-to-follow advice and resources right at your finger tips?

With Moderation Nation, a new national program created by the Hershey Center for Health & Nutrition, (HCHN) in collaboration with the American Dietetic Association, you can now have access to a variety of tools that will help you achieve moderation – and you don´t even need to give up your favorite foods!

For on-the-go needs, the new Moderation Nation iPhone app, free and available on iTunes or via http://www.themoderationnation.com, will reward you for the activity you´re already doing, while encouraging you to do even more in a way that suits your busy lifestyle. With an easy-to-read tracker and a comprehensive list of activities to choose from, you can earn badges for your progress and go from a Starting Gun to a Healthy Hero!

The Moderation Nation Web site (www.themoderationnation.com) provides a host of new tools for you and your readers, including:
Recipes and Expert Tips. Here you´ll find advice from Cheryl Forberg, registered dietitian (RD) for NBC’s The Biggest Loser, award-winning chef and New York Times best-selling cookbook author

Additional recipes and tips from Regina Ragone, Food Director at Family Circle magazine; Keri Glassman, author of the O2 diet; and Liz Ward, author of Expect the Best Pregnancy.

Moderation Menus. Seven-day meal plans – with snack ideas – that will help you plan out your week. Each menu is based on an individual lifestyle, such as Single, Adults with Kids and Adults with No Kids.

Balance the Meal. This cool balancer tool allows you to input your main dish and its preparation method; in return, you´ll receive ideas for complementary side dishes that round out the meal smartly.

Useful Facts. Here you´ll find everything from a “portion distortion” guide – providing cues on what actual portion sizes should look like – to a grocery shopping fact sheet – to a guide on how to start and maintain a food journal.

So now that you read all of that stuff, are you super excited? Honestly, are you? I was wicked excited when I learned about this awesome new program so much that I immediately downloaded the app onto my phone & it’s now one of my fave apps!

And guess what else?! Minnie Mama was one of 6 lucky bloggers who had the opportunity to interview the infamous Cheryl Forberg. How cool is that?! Cheryl was super nice and although I was a bit nervous, she totally put me at ease and kindly answered all of my questions. We discussed how she found her passion for being a nutritionist and put it to good use after gaining a couple pounds in college & realizing she needed to make a few changes — made me feel so much better to hear that even someone so brilliant and fitness focused still needs to stay on track. We also chatted about my sincere LOVE for Hershey’s chocolate and how I try to avoid it as it’s my trigger food, but Cheryl gently reminded me that even sweet treats are acceptable in moderation. If only I could have been so disciplined with the bag of Hershey Kisses I received from this promotion — had to send them to the hub’s work to get them out of the house, but more on that later.

I also asked Cheryl all about working on the set of the Biggest Loser as I absolutely love that show. She told me it was very special and a great honor to be a part of such a fabulous organization. Despite all of her fame and amazing career, she was surprisingly such a humbling person to chat with and so down to earth — I just loved her.

And most importantly to Minnie Mama’s heart, we discussed the importance of setting good eating & exercise habits for our children. We both agreed that it’s vital to teach our children about eating healthy & staying fit at a young age as these are values they will carry with them throughout their lives. But we can’t just preach to the little ones how they must eat their fruits & veggies, not indulge in too much junkfood, don’t drink sugary drinks, and run around & play a lot. No we cannot. We must practice what we preach and set good examples for them as children are little copy cats. I am trying to do this with Isabella and I hope that you will do the same with your children too.   🙂

So are you totally on board with me & Hershey’s Moderation now? I hope so because it’s truly a fun ship to be on board with! LOL. Thanks to My Blog Spark and Moderation Nation, I received an awesome “Moderation Nation” prize pack filled with a comfy Hershey’s Moderation Nation t-shirt which is perfect to wear exercising or even lounging around, a bag of Hershey’s chocolate that I totally over-indulged in before sending the rest out of the house (I just can’t control myself w/ Hershey’s and recognizing trigger foods is important, right?!), and a journal to track all of my eating & exercising habits. Pretty cool, huh?! Well, guess what?! Minnie Mama would like to share this special prize pack with one of her loyal readers too!

How to Enter: 

  • Leave a comment telling me any tips or goals you have in regards to staying / getting healthy.

Additional Entries: 

  • Subscribe to Minnie Mama’s Blog and leave a comment letting me know you did.
  • Comment on any of my other posts. I love, love, love comments!
  • Blog about this contest on your blog and then leave a comment w/ your blog link letting me know you did.
  • Tell me your absolute favorite indulgence — a special candy, cupcake, or perhaps you’re a good girl / guy and consider shoe shopping an indulgence?  🙂

Rules: You do not need to be a blogger to enter, but you must have a valid email address and be 18 years or older. This contest will be closed on Wednesday, November 17th at midnight and a winner will be chosen randomly. The winner will be contacted via email. However, the winner must respond within 48 hours or a new winner will be chosen. 

Important Disclosure: No monetary compensation was received, but I did receive a special prize pack for myself & one of my readers from My Blog Spark and Hershey’s to help faciliate my review. However, all of the opinions expressed are 100% true.

16 Responses to "Review and Giveaway: Hershey’s Moderation Nation"

My favorite indulgence? Cheesecake!
gingeroo616@aol.com

I make sure to stay hydrated.
gingeroo616@aol.com

I only eat when hungry. I watch everything I eat and run every day.

My favorite indulgence is definitely Ice Cream – soft serve from mcdonalds, yum yum

Get into a regular exercise regimen. you can switch up the exercises, but always make sure you exercise!! It only takes 21 days to form a habit you know!

favorite indulgence is ice cream.
tcogbill at live dot com

tips for staying healthy- drink plenty of water, get plenty of rest and take a multi vitamin daily.
tcogbill at live dot com

Left a comment for you under your Nov. 6th Restaurant With Kids post. Great article!

My favorite indulgence is a low-fat Chai Latte…only do this several times a year, but oh it’s soooo good! 🙂

My goal right now is walking 2 miles a day, using Leslie Sansone’s Walking DVD’s. Last week I did 3 or 4 days (can’t remember which!) and felt so much better! My tip: drink tons of water every day!

I am going to try to walk more for exercise.

My absolute favorite indulgence is chocolate covered cashews 🙂

My best tip for eating and enjoying in moderation is to only eat when you’re hungry and not mindlessly — and measure portions 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

I was doing so well until this summer when I had three kidney stone surgeries. I am doing the drinking of water but I want to get back in the habit of going to the gym if only to walk on the treadmill.

I am currently tracking my calorie intake and walking at least a mile daily to loose weight.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,745 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

