Minnie Mama's Blog

Where Have You Been All My Life?

Posted on: December 20, 2010

I’ve never been a coffee drinker or even a tea drinker for that matter. I occasionally will drink a sugar-free, fat-free hot cocoa, but let’s be honest here, those really taste blah. Of course I like to throw in a candy cane to spice it up a bit, but I guess that defeats the whole “sugar-free” concept. I could use SF candy canes, but where’s the fun in that?

Anyways, the other night I was scouring the cabinet for some tea as I wasn’t in the mood in for the blah cocoa and figured there had to be an old box of tea on hand for company. Side note to self: Does 3-year-old tea go bad? Anyways, I came across this little package of Oregon Chai Tea Latte mix. I figured I’d absolutely hate it, but as the package was a free sample that I got in the mail eons ago (again, does this stuff go bad?!) I decided to live on the edge and try it. I checked the nutrition info and did a quick calculation to learn it was about 2 WW points. Not the best as I try to only drink 0 pt stuff, but whatever I was good all day and like I said before there was no way I’d even like this stuff.

OMG. I was so wrong. I absolutely LOVED this new find. For years, my friends and family have been like drug addicts swarming to the local & chain coffee shops for their morning / afternoon / evening / whenever fixes of hot cups of overpriced beverages. I secretly prided myself on not being one of them and was disgusted at how much $$ they’d spend. Don’t forget, I am very frugal!  🙂  And now here I was sitting in my bed cuddling w/ my little bum (no, not my actual bum — my child — my bum is sadly no longer so little!) and drinking this delicious concoction while planning how and when I could get more packets of this hot & steamy heaven in a cup.

That was just last night and since then I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve thought about that joyful cup of Chai tea latte which btw is made by Oregon, just in case they are out there reading this and want to send me cases and cases of their to-die-for products. Ha ha  🙂  Anyways, I did a quick online search and apparently you can buy this stuff on Amazon which would be awesome except for the fact that Minnie Mama is on strike against that awful company (did you hear about it? The whole controversy w/ selling a pedophile book? Google it. They are a horrible company and I will never help to support them!). But I also found  a $1 off coupon online so I am guessing I can buy this stuff at the supermarket? And w/ a $1 coupon that will help me justify this splurge. And I also found they make a SF version so I am hoping that makes it even more point friendly! Ahhhh….

I am now counting the minutes until I can run off to the grocery store and be reunited with my delicious new piece of serenity!  🙂

1 Response to "Where Have You Been All My Life?"

I’ve tried Chai Tea before but it was some really weird pre-packaged stuff, and I was in the 5th grade, so I don’t really recall it! I’d love to try again. But, My sister swears by oregon chai brand chai tea! She says the stuff is awesome. I haven’t tried it because she gets the full-sugar version, but I’d love to try one of their sugar free mixes. 😀

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,408 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

