Minnie Mama's Blog

Sweet Potatoe Fries

Posted on: March 19, 2011

Do you guys feel like this blog is slowly turning into a cooking site w/ all of the food talk? I kinda do, but I promise it’s not. It’s all related to my fitness journey (one way or another) and don’t worry because this is definitely a recipe you DO NOT want to follow.

Sweet potatoes – I love them, dream about them, and live off of them. I eat them at least 3-4 times a week. They are a super food and so healthy for you, assuming you don’t drench them in butter and brown sugar like they do at the Outback (LOVE that place!). But when I make them I just spray them in a little spray butter which in the long run will prob kill me, but let’s not focus on the negatives right now.

And so when I found a recipe to actually make sweet potatoe fries at home and it’s super duper easy I was like OMG I have to try it! And then of course there’s a place up in Maine that has delicious seafood and sweet potatoe fries so I started dreaming about those fries and before I knew it I was in the kitchen anxiously peeling my potatoe, cutting it up and spraying the raw pieces w/ spray butter. Yes, the recipe said to spray w/ olive oil, but I wanted to save the calories so opted for the spray butter. Apparently that was a mistake and you’re supposed to use the oil for a reason….

This was a major sweet potatoe fail. So sad.

3 Responses to "Sweet Potatoe Fries"

I LOVE anything sweet potato! Love baked sweet potato, roasted sweet potato, sweet potato fries. YUM YUM!
Don’t be afraid of oil! A little fat is good for your body!!

I know, they say oil is a “healthy” fat, but honestly, I just can’t get the number of fat grams outta my head whenever I use it. But I’m trying to get over this fear so we’ll see… I am a weirdo! lol

Good grief…glad I wasn’t there for supper that night…LOL

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,408 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

