Minnie Mama's Blog

2013 New Year Resolutions

Posted on: January 25, 2013

photo

So much has happened since I last blogged and maybe at some point we’ll get into that, but today is not that day. Today is the day that I am going to talk about the future, not the past. The future as in this year. 2013 baby!

I know that everyone has resolutions and I am sure they have the best intentions to follow through, but let’s be honest that hardly ever happens. Unless you are me. Yes, I know that sounds a bit snobby, but it’s the truth! About 10 years ago I made a resolution to lose weight and I did it. I blew my resolution away. I lost a whopping 80lbs! Awesome, right?!

And then last year my simple resolution was to give up Crystal Light. I realize it wasn’t a very big goal, but it was important to me. I was addicted to that crap. It was like my coffee or cigarette — both of which I don’t have any interest in, thank god. So anyways, that Crystal Light stuff is full of unknown funky chemicals that’s been linked w/ cancer and other horrible diseases so of course I had to kick this habit. Well one year later and I am proud to say I am totally done w/ that grossness. I even tried it a month or so ago just because I was out of lemons (I can’t drink plain water unless I am working out) so I thought I’d give it a try. OMG. It was totally gross and way too sugary! Yuck!!!

See I’ve totally missed blogging — I am right back in the middle of babbling just like the old days, ha ha. Alright so back to the topic of this year’s resolutions. This year I am determined / hell bent to follow through with these:

1.) Lose weight
Not like 80lbs again, but a few pounds. Bikini season is coming and I’ve put on a few too many pounds the past 1 1/2 years and now they need to go! Like ASAP.

2.) Stay home w/ Isabella
Well, not stay home totally, but change my schedule / job so I can be there more for her. She’s starting kindergarten in the Fall and there is NO way in hell that my little baby will get on a bus after a day at kindergarten to then go to another program and sit there till I can pick her up. Not happening. I’m looking for a job w/ Mother’s Hours like 9am – 2pm so I can drop her off at school and then pick her up. I want her to have a normal life so she can have play dates after school / be a Brownie (if she wants) / do after school activities / whatever she wants. I want to be there for her and I want her to have school vacations / summers home. My child has been in school since she was literally 12 weeks old and I can’t even begin to tell you about the guilt I carry every single day for that, but you do what you gotta do to pay the bills so that’s what we did. However, things have gotten way better and we’re now in a better position so we can afford for me to change careers. Now that I am typing this, I guess I should’ve listed this as #1 as she has always been and will always be my #1 priority adn I will do ANYTHING to make this resolution happen. A job w/ Mother’s Hours / waitressing weekend nights / whatever — it’s gonna happen and that’s it. And did I mention how much I hate sitting in a crappy cubicle that resembles a jail cell?! It literally sucks the life out of me, but we’ll save that for another post…

3.) Monthly Date Nights
So far we’ve been really good about this. After 11 years of marriage and many ups / downs we’ve learned together that it’s important to make time for us. It makes us a better couple which in turn makes us better parents. It sounds totally corny, but it’s def true.

4.) Paint my nails
A silly resolution probably, but to me pretty nails make me feel pretty. I guess this resolution isn’t really about the nails so much as just finding a few minutes once a week just for myself to make me feel pretty. And if Isabella lets me paint her nails / toes then that’s another bonus for us to have even more bonding time. God, I love that little munchkin.

Let’s make 2013 the best year yet!!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,590 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

