Minnie Mama's Blog

The Red Chair

Posted on: January 28, 2013

photo

I’ve posted many times over the past few years about how it literally breaks my heart to send Isabella to daycare. Like literally she’s been in daycare for 5 years now. Her whole little life. It’s all she knows and she doesn’t know any differently. It’s never been an issue to her and she’s always loved it. It was like a second home to her and as much as I hated the situation, I knew she was in good hands and was happy. And all that matters at the end of the day is that my baby is taken care of and happy.

Well, that’s all changed slowly over the past few months and it’s breaking my heart into a million pieces. Yes, of course she’s still taken care of and it’s a safe place for her, but she’s not happy there anymore and she hates it 9 times out of 10. The thing is her favorite teacher is now at a different location and she was very attached to her. Of course she’s had many teachers over the years, but this teacher was very special to her and she absolutely adored her. She was an amazing loving teacher and all of the kids flocked to her — she played w/ them and was silly w/ them. She was one of them and really got down on their level while still teaching them stuff and acting her role as the teacher. However, now that she’s gone there’s now 2 other teachers in her classroom and the whole dynamic has changed. Both teachers were there before also, but there was more of a balance w/ her favorite teacher so it didn’t matter to her as much. These 2 replacement teachers are both great people, but one of them in particular is a bit strict to put it nicely and more structured in a school sense. Does that make any sense? No? OK I will be blunt about this — there’s too many damn rules, it’s like bootcamp for preschoolers, and there’s no more warm and fuzzy attitudes. It’s all business which would be expected for 5th graders, but these kids are 3-5 and they still need that warm & fuzzy stuff.

So a few weeks ago she was “not listening” and had a 1 week punishment of not being able to bring in her toy. Are you kidding?! One week for not listening?! I tried to get the boot camp teacher to bend on the rules, but was given the whole line about how once you set a rule you can’t break it becayse we need to teach boundaries and blah blah blah. Dude, in my world rules were meant to be broken and trust me, I’ve broken plenty of rules in my life and everything turned out just fine! Shoot, if the worst thing my child does is not listen to you then we are having a great day! Did anyone get physically hurt or was she mean to someone? No! Did she lie? No! Did she break something or freak out or have a tantrum? NO! She didn’t listen. And do you want to know what she didn’t listen about? You told her she couldn’t take her freaking winter boots off and she did anyways. Do you know why she took them off? No, you don’t because you didn’t give her a chance to talk and kept doing this obnoxious hand motion and saying ‘aah’ every time she tried to talk so who’s being rude now?! Well, she took them off because she had sand and rocks in them and they were bothering her feet. Really that doesn’t sound so horrible to me. I am sure that’s a lot worse things she could have done to be defiant to you…

So fast forward to the end of the week and now the children are not allowed to bring toys in anymore which is nuts to me –they are little children and depend on the security of sleeping with their toys at nap time. Well now they just can’t bring them in at all anymore. And nap time, let’s talk about that — it lasts 2 1/2 hours! Are you freaking kidding me?! She doesn’t like to sleep at nap time and if she talks she gets in trouble so the poor kid has to just lay there for all that time until she eventually passes out from shear boredom. And then since she had a long freaking nap she’s up all night long till after 11pm and it’s horrible the next morning when she’s exhausted from being up all night. UGH!

But what really gets me is the RED CHAIR. They have a time out chair where the children sit if they are misbehaving which I totally understand. However, she cries and cries that she doesn’t want to go to school because she is scared she will get in trouble and doesn’t want to sit in the red chair. I’m sorry, but when my 5 year old is instantly crying on a Monday morning because the 1st thing she worries about is getting in trouble and having to sit in the red chair then there’s a big freaking problem. That is not normal. Especially since she’s never had issues before and has always been considered a great little kid at school. Yes, she’s feisty to me when she wants to be, but at school she’s not like that and this whole change in her personality started just recently. She’s always saying she’s sorry and worried she will be in trouble. She tells me they are always mad at her and yell at her. What?! Are you kidding me?! I’ve talked to the teacher and there was nothing nice to say about her and pretty much says she is a drama queen. What?! Do you not realize this is MY child you are talking about? Could you please try to be a little nicer?! Is it too much to ask for a little compassion and for you to act like you actually care about children since you are taking care of them all day?!

And before you assume I am just on another one of my over protective Mama tandems, its not just me. I’ve spoken to other parents from her class and they do not like this particular teacher either. One of her friend’s plays w/ dolls and acts them out yelling at the other dolls who all happen to have the same names as the children in the class. There is definitely something going on and I am not happy about this. It’s just not right and I can’t allow it to keep happening. But what is a working Mama to do?! Obviously if I could walk out of my job right now and stay home w/ her every single day I would, but unfortunately at this very moment it’s just an option. I would do anything if I could, but it’s just not possible yet…

I don’t like the direction this is going in and I am at my wits end. I have no idea what to do about this situation. If I take it above the teacher’s head and talk to the school owner, what will the reprocussion be? Will things be more difficult for her? Will the teacher come down harder on her and I won’t know because I am not there all day? Should I switch schools? She will only be there for a few months so is it even worth doing that to her when this is the only place she’s ever known? WTF?!!! Ahhhh, I am going out of my mind….

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,706 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

