Minnie Mama's Blog

Keeping it Fun

Posted on: February 20, 2013

photo

Alright so maybe the title of this post could be a little misleading and make you wonder what I’m up to. No, it’s nothing like 50 Shades of Grey, ha ha! I am talking about keeping it fun at home for my little one. 🙂

The child literally has enough toys to open up a damn toy store (not even kidding!) and yet she’s constantly telling me how she’s bored or has nothing to do. Are you kidding me? Of course the reasonable explanation would be that she needs a playmate to keep her busy, but since there’s no little kids in the neighborhood and at this point a new sibling would be way too young to even keep her attention for long then that leaves us w/ 1 other option. Me. Yup, that’s right, I am her playmate. Her BFF. Her partner in crime. You name it and that’s me. Am I complaining about this? No way. I love every single second we spend together and we have a complete blast together. No matter what we’re doing, it’s like a party.

Some of our favorite things to do together are read books during our “book night” which means we change into our pj’s and cuddle in bed while reading a pile of books taller than us. Literally, the child picks out as many books as her little arms can carry and then turns to me to show me my huge pile!

We play chef and put our matching aprons and then cook up a storm in the kitchen. Usually something sweet like cookies or brownies, but it’s always fun and a great opportunity for her to count her measurements and even learn her spelling when we look at the ingredients (eggs for example) and recipe.

We do “projects” which consist of anything from coloring to cutting out pictures from magazines to make collages to making macaroni necklaces, etc. In fact the macaroni necklace was such a huge hit that she wore it to school today. It was also pajama day at school so trust me, that girl is stylin’ in her jammies w/ her Easter themed shaped macaroni necklace, ha ha.

At least a few times a week we have Game Night and we play tons and tons of our favorite games. I am proud to say we have all of the classic kid games and the majority of them we got for literally quarters from yard sales. I really do love a good sale and can’t wait for the Spring when they start again. I find the best bargains for kid stuff!

We build forts / tents out of snow as you saw last week or simply blankets when we’re inside and it’s too cold. A child’s imagination is truly amazing and the fun we have is endless.

Of course don’t get me wrong we always end up playing dolls, dinosaurs, super heroes, etc. but it’s still always nice to keep it interesting and creative so I don’t hear that adorable / whiny voice tell me she’s bored. And there’s lots of times when she’s playing by herself and having a ball – I love listening to her play and talk to her toys! And before you think I’m Super Mama, trust me I am not as she watches her fair share of TV too. I am just trying really hard to limit it as much as possible. Of course when I need to get my 1 hour of cardio in then I will turn a movie on w/o hesitation, but she still plays while she’s watching something so I feel like that’s OK. 🙂

What do you do to keep your little ones entertained?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,590 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

