Minnie Mama's Blog

Taking Control of the Naked Truth

Posted on: May 9, 2013

Last night I worked my ass off on the elliptical and could feel sweat dripping down my body into all sorts of places. It was totally disgusting and invigorating at the same time. I was proud of myself. I really stepped it up a notch and worked hard.

But then when undressing for the shower I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and it was depressing. Like seriously, it was bad. I saw bulges that I never noticed before and rolls that a baker would be envious of. It was awful. How did I allow myself to get to this point? Why did I not stop eating when that first 5 or 10 or even 15 lbs was gained? Why did I wait till I gained 30 freaking pounds?! Last summer at this time I knew I needed to lose 15lbs and now 1 year later, did I lose it? No I went and gained another 15lbs. Freaking crazy…

I could sit here all day and make excuses for my weight gain — sitting down all day at a desk job; I am a stress eater / celebration eater / bored eater (see a pattern here?); not nursing anymore (god, I miss being able to eat so much extra, lol); etc. But excuses won’t help me lose this weight and fit in all my old super cute skinny clothes. Only hard work and proper eating will get me where I need to be. And I will be there, God dammnit. The excuses are stopping here and today is THE day that I will start. Well, actually, I did really good yesterday so technically it was yesterday, but it sounds better to say today, ha ha!

I want to set a good example for my daughter so she will follow in my strong & healthy footsteps. And I want to set a good example for myself. I want to be the best me I can be. I want to be happy with myself inside and out. I want to shop for fun clothes again instead of dreading shopping because nothing fits right. I lost 80lbs about 10 years ago and managed to keep it off all this time with the exception of these 30lbs that creeped up over the last couple years. If I can lose 80lbs then I can sure as hell lose 30lbs and I am gonna do it by my 30-something Birthday in August.

Every week I will be posting my weight loss updates — maybe actual weight, but probably just amount lost for now. And I might post before pics too depending on how brave I feel. There’s no better way to actually stick to something then just putting it all out there for the whole world to see, right?

Who’s down with me for the challenge? Let’s face the naked truth together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,488 hits

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top rated

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

